The College of New Jersey Logo

Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     Three Bar Menu

Materials Science Specialization

The Materials Science Specialization is an interdisciplinary program open to chemistry and physics majors in the School of Science who have a strong interest in creating new organic, biological, or inorganic materials and/or exploring the properties and applications of these materials. Students should have a background in chemistry and physics and be comfortable with mathematics. Chemistry students are free to pursue research projects in either the Chemistry Department or Physics Department. Chemistry majors who successfully complete this program will graduate with a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry and a specialization in Materials Science. Students will be prepared to pursue a wide variety of careers or graduate study in chemistry, biophysics, or materials science.

To complete the Materials Science specialization, students must complete the following coursework:

1) PHY 306/Mathematical Physics or MAT 229/Multivariable Calculus;

2) PHY 311 – Analog and Digital Electronics or PHY 451 Advanced Lab or CHE 410/Instrumental Analysis; and

3) at least three of the following options courses: PHY 345/Physics of Clouds and Climate, PHY 436/Condensed Matter, CHE 451/Inorganic Chemistry structures and bonding, CHE 478/Special Topics in Materials Science (may be taken more than once), and PHY 478/ Photonics, Optics, and Materials. See course listings for additional details. Students must complete at least one options course with a PHY prefix and at least one with a CHE prefix.

Students may apply for the specialization at any time but are encouraged to do so in their sophomore year to facilitate planning and timely completion. To enroll in the program, students should use the Change of Major Form.

Participating faculty members include: Chemistry – Heba Abourahma, Joseph Baker, Michelle Bunagan, Benny Chan, Donald Hirsh; Physics – David McGee, Nathan Magee, Romulo Ochoa